It’s a New Year, get it together.

  by Drama-Club

I know, you probably thought I let this blog die months ago, but no. It’s a new year and I’m going to do better. What really happened was I figured out how working part-time and going to grad school (did I mention I was in grad school?) and trying to being a functional human being is really completely exhausting and sometimes it sucks the life out of you! Which is why I am thankful for a new year, where, in my mind at least, there is an opportunity to get my shit together and still feel peachy.

Now if you are a regular human, you may have blown your new years resolutions by now. Understandable.  So you’ve eaten 12 chocolate bars, drank one too many glasses of red wine on a school night or busted out a block of cheese during the post Christmas ‘detox’ you were doing.  It’s all good, because you get a second chance called Chinese New Year.  On January 23rd, get your shit together all over again and this time, with a false start under your belt, you will blow ’em away. And seriously, buy a moleskine (they will be on sale by this point), a new piece of jewelry and a boat load of fruits and vegetables, it’s really not that difficult.  Other reasonable ways to get it together:

  • Do what you say you are going to do.
  • Count to ten slowly.
  • Go to bed early.
  • Find something that motivates you.                                                                                                    
  • Don’t be so hard on yourself.
  • Clean your kitchen.

Even though I have messed up my New Years newness, a few awesome things have come my way…I turned 27, I got a Donna Hayward tattoo (for real.) and made some new work I actually care about (I’ll show you sometime).

For someone who is a pro and getting all tied up in knots, it pays off to have your shit together. You will have more time for drinking wine and looking fabulous anyways.

xx

Leave a Reply

